Alex Chesbro's Blog

Grey (Bag) Ladies and their hangers-on | April 14, 2009

Many thanks to George Parker over at AdScam for picking up on a linked story I posted in the comments.  The story, without going into too much detail, basically says that newspapers are still king.  That’s hard to believe, really, since so many papers have been folding as of late.  But if you follow the statistics in the story, Mr. Langeveld says that when it comes down to it, statistically, only 3% of newspaper reading is done online.  I believe it, but I don’t.  I still pick up the paper, and when I’m done, I either recycle it (yay recycle), or I leave it somewhere where someone else might pick it up.  In Washington, DC, it was commonplace to leave the Post Express on the seat of the Metro when you were done with it.  I read many 2nd or 3rd or 4th-hand Expresses that way.  However, I can’t read a 2nd hand link from Digg.  I have to click on it myself.  

So why is print dying?  To be honest, I don’t know.  It’s the bane of the newspaper industry, and it pinches the seams of the advertising industry.  There will always be Interview Magazine , Esquire, and other high-society rags to bring in the big ad dollars from LV or Gucci.  But the downtown competition to Nordstroms?  Might get lost in all the sell-offs….

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

