Alex Chesbro's Blog

5 Year Plan | March 27, 2009

I watched an interview on Forbes the other day.  They interviews Miles Young, top dog at WPP.  He said he favored 5 year plans.  And he had great 5 year plans when he was at O&M in Asia.  But when they asked him about his 5 year plan for Ogilvy for the next 5 years, he went into a 2 minute thesis statement about WHAT exactly a 5 year plan was.  End of interview.  No answer.  It left me feeling empty.  

So, without further ado, here’s my 5 year plan. In no particular order, mind you.

1) Work in Berlin: I’ve only been in D-dorf a few months, but still, I want to work in Berlin.  There’s no other city like it in the world, not even NYC.  It’s just got a special feel to it, and even though D-dorf may be wealthier as a city, Berlin is more creative.  And in advertising, creativity is lifeblood.  I think that’s a reasonable 5 year goal.

2) Get a new passport: Mine expires in 2011, anyway.  But I want to get a new one because the one I have is already filled up.  I’ve been helped by the 4 pages my Arbeitserlaubnis takes up.  It sucks that the EU doesn’t stamp passports anymore because of the Shengen agreement, but if you ask at the airports, they will.  I’m hitting up Spain in July, hopefully Austria later on, Italy a few time, and trying to plan a trip to Saudi Arabia to visit a friend.  If I can get a new passport before April 2011, this goal will be met.

3) Look like Jason Statham:  Yeah, you may laugh, and that’s fine, but this is basically me saying I want to get back into the shape I was in in High School, and improve on that.  Basically, just get healthy enough to complete my next goal…

4) Compete in a triathlon: I can run, and I can bike.  I don’t know about swimming.  I’ve heard these are addicting, and I loved racing bikes in college.  

5) Get a promotion of some kind:  Yeah, I realize that even moving up to Copywriter from Jr. CW would be a step, but I’d like to jump to Senior CW in 5 years.  I think it’s possible, and depending on the job market in Berlin in 5 years….this could be an easy step.

 

So what’s your 5 year plan?  Leave it in the comments!!

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. i posted mine already. times two. before you. so that makes me pretty cool. haha

    berlin is a pretty sweet city!

    Comment by miranda — March 27, 2009 @ 7:23 pm

  2. If I had a dollar for every time I came here! Great writing.

    Comment by Brady Nielsen — May 28, 2010 @ 10:35 am


Leave a Reply

